USDA names members to National Advisory Commi...

USDA names members to National Advisory Committee

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed nine new members and ten returning members to the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (NACMCF).

New members

  • The nine new members of the committee are:
    Dr. Wafa Birbari, Sara Lee Corp.; Dr. Robert Dole, U.S. Department of Defense Veterinary Services Activity; Dr. David Golden, University of Tennessee Department of Food Science & Technology; Dr. Margaret Hardin, Texas A&M University Department of Animal Science; Dr. Dallas Hoover, University of Delaware Department of Animal & Food Sciences; Dr. Lee Johnson, West Liberty Foods; Dr. Nandini Natrajan, Keystone Foods LLC; Robert Whitaker, Produce Marketing Association; and Dr. Martin Wiedmann, Cornell University Department of Food Science.

They will serve as scientific experts representing disciplines related to health and food safety issues. Eleven additional experts will be appointed later this year to form the full 30-member committee.

The NACMCF, established in 1988, provides scientific advice on public health issues relative to the safety and wholesomeness of the U.S. food supply. The committee also assists in the development of microbiological criteria and reviews and evaluates epidemiological and risk assessment data as well as methodologies for assessing microbiological hazards.

The committee serves the U.S. Departments of Agriculture (Food Safety and Inspection Service), Health and Human Services (Food and Drug Administration and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention), Commerce (National Marine Fisheries Service), and Defense (Veterinary Service Activity). The NACMCF meets up to two times annually with subcommittees meeting more often as necessary.

The Secretary of Agriculture appoints committee members following consultation with the Secretary of Health and Human Services. Appointees are scientists from academia, industry, and government. Committee members serve a two-year term.
Source: USDA – United States Department of Agriculture