Seven new members in EFSA Management Board

by Editor
Friday, June 27, 2008

The Council of the European Union has appointed seven members to join the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority.

The members will take up their appointment on 1 July 2008 and, along with seven other Board members appointed in June 2006, will ensure continuity in overseeing the functioning of the Authority. The inaugural meeting of the newly constituted Management Board is scheduled for 2 October 2008.

The seven members are: Sue Davies, Piergiuseppe Facelli, Matthias Horst, Milan Pogaènik, Jiri Ruprich, Sinikka Turunen, Bernhard Url. Appointed in a personal capacity, they all have proven expertise and longstanding experience in a wide range of areas related to the Authority’s mission including relations with institutions and stakeholders, and notably those organizations representing consumers

The Council’s decision follows consultation with the European Parliament on a list of candidates proposed by the European Commission following an open call for expressions of interest launched in 2007.