Ingredients Duck feet are an alternative gelatin source
Gelatin for food is typically derived from the skins, hides and bones of pigs and cows. However, some countries restrict pork consumption for religious reasons, while cows in other countries can be afflicted with diseases that can be passed on to humans.
A study published in the journal Food Hydrocolloids by researchers at the Islamic Azad University in Iran and Universiti Sains Malaysia tested duck feet as an alternative gelatin source. They compared duck feet gelatin, derived from a halal-certified Peking Duck farm in Malaysia, with bovine gelatin.
The researcher tested the effects of sugars at different concentrations on thermal and rheological properties and gelation kinetics. They also studied the secondary structure of the gelatins using Fourier transform infrared (FTIR) spectroscopy.
They found the gelation rate and gel strength decreased when adding sugar at low concentrations. But gel strength and the gelation rate increased when adding more sugar.
Besides meat products gelatin is typically used for the processing of medical products or as a texturizer in confectionery products such as fruit gums and marshmallows.